Uncategorized

Would you like some dessert? Here it is! Rémy Couture

VeuxTuDuDessert

A few years ago, I discovered Rémy Couture’s desserts on the Olympic Park Esplanade, where he parked his food truck full of mouth-watering goods. So, the good news for all the big sweet tooth like me is that he has just published his first cookbook!

As soon as the book arrived, the kids got very excited. They like to leaf through cookbooks to tell me what recipes they would like to try. Well, according to them I have to cook the whole book! You would have heard them with their cries of envy on every page. The “wow’s” and “this one, mommy” and “oh, how good it looks” were presented all over our discovery. It must be said that the photos can only make our mouths water, it’s simple, we want to eat the book.

About the author

Rémy Couture has been cooking since his youth. After taking his pastry diploma, he kept on his training in France with Pierre Hermé. Returning to Quebec, and after working at several great restaurants and at the Arhoma bakery, he opened his own pastry shop, Crémy, in the heart of Mont-Royal plateau.

About the book

With a colourful vintage universe, you will dive into greediness! Fifty recipes of pure insanity, between modernity and childhood memories. The pastry shops from my childhood were very different, but I can easily imagine them as mine.

First of all, we find the donuts, from the basic recipe to more complex variations. Then, Rémy proposes to us his interpretations of commercial candies [such as Oh Henry bars, maple leaf cookies and Whippets, for example] and of more traditional recipes [lemon pie, carrot cake, etc.], as well as great classics from Quebec[pouding chômeur, grands-peres au sirop]. The recipes are easy as a whole, with some a little more complex, but the explanations are clear and turn the recipes accessible to everyone.

Surely, I’ve already tested a recipe, and I have my results on the classic donuts. I’ll tell you soon about them in the next articles, but they were really delicious!

Donuts

And if baking is not your thing, Rémy Couture’s delicacies are available for online purchase at his pastry shop website.

You Might Also Like

Pâtisserie/ Revue de livres

Veux-tu du dessert ? En v’là ! Rémy Couture

VeuxTuDuDessert

Il y a quelques années j’ai découvert les desserts de Rémy Couture sur l’esplanade du parc olympique, où il y avait son food truck rempli de gourmandises alléchantes. Alors pour tous les grands gourmands comme moi, bonne nouvelle : il vient de publier son premier livre de recettes !

Lorsque le livre est arrivé, les cocos étaient surexcités. Ils aiment feuilleter les livres de cuisine pour me dire quelles recettes ils voudraient essayer. Et bien d’après eux je dois faire… tout le livre ! Vous les auriez entendu avec leurs cris d’envies à chaque page. Les « ouaouh » et « celle-là maman » et « oh comme ça a l’air bon » ont fusé tout le long de notre découverte. Il faut dire que les photos ne peuvent que nous faire saliver, c’est simple on a envie de manger le livre.

À propos de l’auteur

Rémy Couture cuisine depuis sa jeunesse. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de pâtisserie, il a continué sa formation en France auprès de Pierre Hermé. De retour au Québec et après avoir travaillé dans plusieurs grands restaurants et à la boulangerie Arhoma, il ouvre sa propre pâtisserie, Crémy, au coeur du plateau Mont-Royal.

À propos du livre

Avec un univers coloré et rétro, vous allez faire un plongeon en pleine gourmandise ! 50 recettes de pure décadence, entre modernité et souvenirs d’enfance. Les pâtisseries de mon enfance étaient très différentes mais je peux facilement les imaginer comme les miennes.

On y trouve tout d’abord les beignes, de la recette de base à des variantes plus complexes. Et puis Rémy nous propose ses interprétations de petits gâteaux du commerce [comme les barres Oh Henry, les biscuits feuille d’érable et les Whippet, par ex.] et des recettes plus traditionnelles [tarte au citron, gâteau aux carottes, etc…] ainsi que des grands classiques québécois [pouding chômeur, grands-pères au sirop]. Les recettes sont dans l’ensemble faciles avec certaines un brin plus complexes, mais les explications sont claires et rendent les recettes accessibles à tous.

J’ai bien sûr déjà testé une recette, et j’ai jeté mon dévolu sur les beignes classiques. Je vous en parle très vite dans un prochain article, mais c’est juste délicieux !

Beignes
Beignes

Et puis si ça ne vous tente pas de pâtisser, les délices de Rémy Couture sont disponibles à l’achat en ligne sur le site de sa pâtisserie.

You Might Also Like